• News

  • Sports

  • Health

  • Uncategorized


  • In English

  • Opinions





1 / 1

Transitional Presidential Council: Publication of the Resolution validating the rotating presidency

  • May 10, 2024
  • 3
  • 11
Edgard Leblanc Fils and Smith Augustin, respectively 1st and 2nd President of the Transition Council Transition / © AP

Four (4) personalities will chair the Transitional Council from May 7, 2024 to February 7, 2026 as part of the rotating presidency. The Resolution validating the idea was published by the presidential structure with the signatures of 8 out of 9 possible Members.

THE HAITI FACTOR, May 10, 2024_The rotating presidency takes shape within the Transitional Presidential Council. It began on Tuesday May 7, 2024 with Edgard Leblanc Fils as 1st President.

The 5-month mandate of the Representative of the January 30 Agreement will end on October 7, 2024, according to the Resolution adopted Tuesday and published Thursday by the Council. It is signed by 8 of the 9 Members, with the exception of Frinel Joseph.

After Edgard Leblanc Fils, Smith Augustin (from October 7, 2024 to March 7, 2025), Leslie Voltaire (from March 7, 2025 to August 7, 2025) and Louis Gérald Gilles (from August 7, 2025 to February 7, 2026) will in turn be the 2nd, 3rd and 4th President of the Council, according to the Resolution resulting from consensus, wrote the signatory members.

Transitional Presidential Council: Publication of the Resolution validating the rotating presidency
CPT members pose for a photo during the Haiti Transition Council ceremony on the outskirts of Port au Prince Haiti April 25 2024 © Ralph Tedy Erol Reuters

In addition to the distribution of mandates of the Councilor-Presidents, it was specified in the Resolution that all major decisions of the Council will be taken by a qualified majority of its members, i.e. five (5) Councilors out of the seven (7) voting Councilors.

They (the major decisions) concern in particular the choices of the Prime Minister; members of the government; members of the Provisional Electoral Council (CEP); Directors General; leaders of independent institutions; Ambassadors and Consuls General, Boards of Directors of autonomous organizations; local authorities; commanders of the public forces, specified the 8 Members who appended their signatures to the bottom of the document.


author avatar
Le Facteur Haiti